What Are You Going To Do Today?

Are YOU going to see a show? Are YOU going to stuff your face at a local eatery? Are YOU going shopping and end up buying items you dont really need?

What is the common word here?

YOU

You, you, you, you, you.

I don’t want to know about the show you saw, I couldn’t care about the place you visited, why would I be bothered about your mundane dentist visit or your shopping spree or your owee on your big toe.

What do you want me to say? Wow, you’re so lucky? Do you want a noddy badge? Its certainly not going to earn you any points in my book.

Really, I’d like to slap you into three weeks from Sunday, shake you that your teeth rattle.

You know what? YOU are damn well SELF CENTRED!

I would rather hear about how you got off your butt and took part in a walk to raise awareness for a cause. How you stepped up to the plate and volunteered, I want to hear how you made a difference. That is what matters!

Do you know that there are sick and disabled kids making an active difference in other peoples lives? They are the ones who deserve the difference – the gift – the giving, but they are using their initiative to help others.

It seems that those who really have experienced hardship are the ones who see the hidden or rather obvious plight. They are more willing to give to another lost and hurting soul than those who are lucky to have their health, wealth and so called happiness.

It takes a unique soul, an old soul, to make a difference. It takes heart. These souls have more than likely been called earth angels. And you know what… When you point out the wonderful things they have done, they will point out someone who they believe has done more. They realise that there is so much to be done in this world and that more needs to be done.

So, what did you do today?

Did you wake up thinking what am I going to do for myself today?
Or did you think what am I going to do to make a difference?

I know, I have been writing posts about giving, about love, about commitment. Its because I wish people would wake up and do something. It irritates me to hear how people just gave up completely on a cause, or how people are so blind that they sit back and expect someone else to do it.

The excuses are beyond pathetic. I wonder if these people realise that I laugh at them when I think how entirely narrow minded they are.

Gosh, they say that some people see the world through rose coloured glasses or that some people walk through life with blinkers on but this is just beyond that.

If there is one thing I do in my life I’ll snap those glasses in two, I’ll burn your blinkers and give you a set of reality contacts.

image from google images

image from google images

Everyone YES everyone has the ability to do something. I don’t care what it is, just get off your butt and DO IT! Stop the excuses *I mean really, listen to yourself? Don’t you think those lame excuses have been played out ten thousand times before?!*

Your health is probably better than most people, your financial situation is probably better too.
I mean go down the check list. Do this as a little comparison. Ask yourself if a stray dog or feral cat has the opportunities that you do before you think of not adding a check…

✗✓ health
✗✓ mouth (to ask)
✗✓ home (roof / bed / warmth)
✗✓ general care
✗✓ food / water

These are just the basics.

If your health is good enough for you to go out at night and see a show:

If you have a mouth to merely tell someone what your ailment is:

If you have a roof over your head, and a warm bed to sleep in:

If you have someone or can provide general care for yourself:

If you are able to acquire food for yourself:

You honestly cannot complain because you have the absolute minimal a person needs to survive.

Now think again…

How are you going to answer:

What are you going to do today?

Click here to read more of Di’s Articles

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Di's Articles, Inspiration, Interesting Articles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A very nice spin off from yesterdays Madiba post.
    There are still some people feeling the spirit of yesterday and I hope that this gives them a push in the right direction.

    Good words Di!

Leave a Reply

