Visit to SCS

It’s on a rare occasion that I tell you about what we have been up to.

Because this is a cause close to my heart and because I was ultra excited to go I’ll tell you about this…

Saturday marked World Rhino Day and also WEEAC’s outreach day.
I had been looking forward to the event since I heard about it. For those of you who don’t know WEEAC is the World Event to End Animal Cruelty.
Three events were organised in KZN for three worthy causes.

I woke up on Saturday feeling really bleak; I thought the day would pass not being able to go. You see, my car has some or other issue that we just can’t seem to get to the bottom of – yeah, transport is a huge issue…
Hubby came out of hospital a week ago after another blood pressure scare, where the doctors suspected he had a stroke because it was so high. He is on new medication now, and according to doctors I’ve spoken to BP meds aren’t the easiest to get used to.

So with the odds against me you can understand how I was feeling.

Hubby however, had other plans. He changed some wiring in Little Black and decided we needed to go for a joy ride. I couldn’t have been more grateful and was showered and ready to leave in a flash.

I was like a kid waiting for Christmas as we drove into Second Chances road. To say it again I haven’t been so excited in ages.

Walking inside I finally got to meet Cherece, who I had been chatting to on facebook for a few years. I introduced her to Fairy, aka little crazy cat lady in training. What’s the first thing Fairy says? “I’ve only seen dogs, where are the cats?”

My Book Worm with some of the Second Chance Family

My Book Worm with some of the Second Chance Family

From there both my Book Worm and Fairy were in their element, and so was I, of course.

meeting one of the kitties, if I remember correctly Jill who was born with a deformed tail tip.

meeting one of the kitties, if I remember correctly Jill who was born with a deformed tail tip.

I have never in my life seen so many gorgeous kitties; from huge cuddly fluff balls to the tiniest of little mites.

Fairy, aka crazy cat lady in training with one of the tiniest kittens, ready for adoption in October

Fairy, aka crazy cat lady in training with one of the tiniest kittens, ready for adoption in October

What is really awesome is that they are all free roaming and mingling with dogs.

Trying to plant cat nip in a cat sanctuary. This kitty had his head inside before it was even ready.

Trying to plant cat nip in a cat sanctuary. This kitty had his head inside before it was even ready.

Unfortunately our visit wasn’t a long one, hubby not 100% himself yet. At least now though I can say that I have been there and what a super little sanctuary it is.

another of the gorgeous fluff balls at SCS.

another of the gorgeous fluff balls at SCS.

Second Chance Cats have all been rescued from neglect, abuse, some were abandoned, they all have their stories.
If you would like to help the kitties at this non-profit organisation you can either physically or virtually adopt. See the Second Chance website or their Second Chance’s Facebook Page for more info.

You can donate second hand books for their book sale fundraisers, or collect the following items:

    Tinned food (all brands welcome)
    Frozen mixed veggies
    Rice

Note: Dry food is sponsored

    Floor cleaner
    Dishwashing liquid
    Bleach
    Newspaper
    Paper towels (Carlton rolls)

If you liked this article maybe you would like to read more about the Pav Feral Project or about Toxoplasmosis or see my article in PawPrint Magazine on Cats and String.

Please do me a huge favour and comment on this post with your stories or tips you would like to add.
Please, be kind and DON’T COPY AND PASTE THIS ARTICLE. rather share this post from one of the links below, or simply give me a thumbs up and like this post or the Di Doodles Facebook Page or add your email address above and have up coming posts delivered to your email.

AND THANK YOU for stopping by!!

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on September 25, 2012, in Animal Welfare, Di's Articles, Family, For Cat Lovers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

