Who takes care of my kids if i no longer can?

When I was pregnant I toiled over the decision over who would look after my children in the event that something had happened to me and my husband.

I have come to a point where I am re thinking my decision.

Not to blow my own horn or anything – I really believe that I have done my utmost best in bringing up my children this far.
In the event that I cannot make these decisions I would like the person who does make them, to think very carefully about what they are doing.

I mean look, we are all going to die, its inevitable, I just want to do right by my children if that time comes sooner rather than later.

Which brings me to the point of whom…?

If there is one point in your life that you need to be brutally honest with yourself this is it, and you have to be judgemental – wouldn’t you judge the sh*t out of someone if you knew you weren’t going to be around?
It makes me think of the letter Lindsay wrote to Jenny explaining her decision in the movie “Raising Helen”.

“You must know from experience that when it comes to picking somebody else to raise your kids, no one seems right. No one is you. And so you choose someone who is most like you. Someone that will give the kids a taste of their real mom, the one they lost and never really got to know.”

This is exactly why my head and heart are on the fence again.
This person can’t blindly let my kids go off with Satan-in-law herself. I’ve bumped my head with that monster and her spawn too many times to mention and if I have anything to do with it – that road is one that my kids will certainly not walk. I will still tell that story here…

I have brought my children up to be compassionate towards animals. They have grown up with pets and I would like them to have animals throughout their lives. Not only that. If you are going to be going against everything I believe and will be advocating cruelty to animals, you don’t deserve to be anywhere near my children while I am alive, never mind when I am in the hereafter. I feel that strongly about this. It is a proven fact that if someone harms animals, they won’t think twice about harming YOU. Putting my children in harm’s way is not ideal…

I am a stickler for morals, ethics and manners, and children learn by example. That makes the list even slimmer, I mean really – I am not being judgemental here – would you want the town whore to raise your children? I can’t afford to have your bad decisions affect my Children.

Who, between all the people I know; will help mould my children into honest and confident adults, get to know them for who they are and not try to change them? Who will “just be there”? Who will allow them to express themselves? Who will move heaven and earth for them as I have and will in the future?

Who really knows me? If I had to hand out a quick 20 question exam on Dianne; who would be able to answer the questions? If I had to do the same for each of my children – who would be able to answer those? When it comes to my kids a 50% skin of your teeth; answers are just not going to cut it. There are very few people if any who will pass the test.

There are things I can let slide, but the big stuff is too important to let go of.

Have you thought about this?

What are the things that you would want to stipulate when it came to YOUR children? I want to know what you think? Be BRUTALLY honest.

Don’t judge me here, I am I am re thinking the people I would want to raise my children.

The way things stand for me right now… I had better be living a long – long life…

If this article got you thinking maybe you would also like to read Raising a little Girl – Self Esteem or YOU are unique – What I want my children to know

Please, be kind and DON’T COPY AND PASTE THIS ARTICLE. rather share this post from one of the links below, or simply give me a thumbs up and like this post or the Di Doodles Facebook Page or add your email address above or check the box below and have up coming posts delivered to your email.

AND THANK YOU for stopping by!!

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on November 12, 2012, in Di's Articles, Family, Kids, Parenting, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

