Yom HaShoah – Holocaust Remembrance day – Geneaology 2

Today being Yom HaShoah or Holocaust Remembrance day I wanted to share a little more about my family history.

I have kept an article written by one of my cousins, actually my grandfathers cousins son. He also had a huge interest in how family arrived in SA. The article was written in the 1990’s, today I’ll quote a few snippets from this article which add to the story of our family.

The first quote I must add is a quote from my grandfather, he was talking about when my Aunty Leah arrived in South Africa,

“So, what a joy it was for me to hear again my uncle Jacob (really my mother’s cousin) tell how: “I remember like yesterday the day your ma arrived in South Africa in 1926. They could not speak a word of English. They were ‘richtike green-uhs’ (real green ones)…”

He goes on to say that he asked to interview another uncle from his father’s family who said

“Dees tings are best forgotten”.

It is a great pity in some ways however

“But he does carry on telling me stories, such as how, back in Lithuania, Jewish women were nailed to doors by their breasts. (no wonder ‘dees tings are best forgotten’.)

Also, during the First World War, when the Germans were overrunning Lithuania, the Russians were afraid that the Jews might collaborate with the Germans, so they moved far inland in cattle trucks. On these long journeys, my uncle tells me, his mother cooked in the same pot by day which by night they all had to use to pee and crap in.”

Going back to my Aunty Leah, in her Biography she wrote that Jewish women in concentration camps were tied to fences by their breasts and raped by horses. Because horses penises are so large, these women died by having their internal organs violently ruptured. Some were even so bad that their brains were raped out of their heads. It makes me wonder if people using new modern sayings know about where these few disgusting words inherited their meanings.

I saw a photo on Facebook today with the caption “Could you imagine being a child at this time?” After knowing these stories that sentence really puts things into perspective.

Imagine going through this horror as a child... most of us have no concept of this in modern times.

Imagine going through this horror as a child… most of us have no concept of this in modern times.

My great grandfather arrived in South Africa in +-1916 after marrying. Some of his siblings ended up here so we have been able compile that part of our family tree. Genealogy becomes difficult when we look further back – to my great great grandfathers time, which my cousin explains here about his paternal ancestry.

“In my great grandfather’s time, I was told, Jews used to wangle their sons out of having to serve in the Russian army by changing their names. A family did not have to send an only son,…”

therefore our Leviton family tree relatives that have been more difficult to trace could be a result of this safety precaution.

I think I will leave you to ponder with this information. Some not so easy to digest.

If you are interested in Genealogy, you will likely also find Geneaology – The Kovnes a good read.

Please, be kind and DON’T COPY AND PASTE THIS ARTICLE. rather share this post from one of the links below, or simply give me a thumbs up and like this post or the Di Doodles Facebook Page.

You can follow me on Twitter or Pinterest

Pop by News24 Voices and read my featured articles.

Last but not least you can check the box below and have up coming posts delivered to your email.

AND THANK YOU for stopping by!!

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Di's Articles, Geneaology and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

