Mortifying Moments

A little while ago, I posted on facebook asking people to fess up their “Mortifying Moments” with kids. I got some great responses. As promised, I am sharing these with you… 😉 all I ask in return is that you comment at the bottom of this post and share some snort worthy gems.

From Amy:

“My daughter must have been about 2. We were invited to braai at a colleague of my husband. The wife was very born again Christian. Daughter tripped over their stoep and out came a loud “oh F!!!” There was the most awkward silence.

To put it in context they didn’t have kids, so of course if they had their kids would have been perfect. Never mind that you bottled up your road rage when your kid was little, they still somehow picked up “those” words.”

“Don’t know whose kid it was but my 60-something mom is doing well at Weighless after being asked by a little girl in the queue in Checkers if she had a baby in her tummy (like her heavily pregnant mommy)!”

“Another lol. My sister was about 3 or 4 when she told visitors our father often invited for tea after church that “my mommy hates people coming round after church”.”

From Vanja:

“My eldest sister is obese. Our niece was telling her 5 year old daughter that she couldn’t eat so many sweets/biscuits as otherwise she’d end up like Auntie Chris. So along Chris goes to see Nikki and 5 year old Caitlin immediately say “my Mum said you’re fat”. Poor Nikki wanted the ground to open up!”

From Daria:

“So this friend of my mums during the apartheid times had a three year old daughter, while she was pregnant with her son. So every sonar picture that was in black and white she would show the daughter and say that’s your little brother. When it came to delivery day they were all at the hospital and the daughter turns around and says: “I don’t want a black brother we must go home right now!””

From Claudia:

The kids I au pair: –
“‘ Taxi drivers are retards’ whilst his window is wide open on Beyers Naude, loaded with taxi’s everywhere.

They always ask questions like ‘at what age do you get married’, ‘when do you get a boyfriend’, ‘does everyone have to get married’ etc lol

O and the worst, there’s this homeless guy that sits across their school on the grass. They often loudly ask me ‘is that a hobo?’ Or ‘I’m scared of that hobo, please hold my hand’. Not sure if hears as he looks high/drunk all the time but still embarrassing lol ”

Thank you Ladies for sharing!

And here is my moment – one I created for my mom…

My mom took me to see Dr Marius Hugo and he called someone a “crismis kalkoen”. I was about 5 years old.

Anyway, we went shopping at Cresta and there was a pointsman at the republic road stop street / intersection.

I opened up the back window and shouted at the top of my lungs. “Jou crismis kalkoen!”

My mom had me hiding behind the seat in case he came after us on his bike!! LOL

Now remember to share yours… Its only fair. 😉 and if you don’t have kids you can always tell us what your pets did… Heaven knows they perfectly time these things…

Please, be kind and DO NOT COPY AND PASTE THIS ARTICLE.

“The Copyright Act[3] defines nine classes of work that are eligible for copyright:[4]

literary works – including novels, poems, plays, film scripts, textbooks, ARTICLES, encyclopaedias, reports, speeches, etc….”

rather share this post from one of the links below, or simply give me a thumbs up and like this post or the Di Doodles Facebook Page.

You can follow me on Twitter, Pinterest or Bloglovin

Pop by News24 Voices and read my featured articles.

Last but not least you can fill in your email addy in the “you have mail” box (in the right hand column or in the bottom right hand corner), click the “follow” button and have up coming posts delivered to your email. *Try it – it’s as good as having your dog bring your newspaper to you in the mornings*

AND THANK YOU for stopping by!!

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on June 11, 2013, in Di's Articles, Funnies, Kids, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My mom was a stay-at-home mom, and as such, when she went shopping, so did my brother and I (until we were big enough, of course). And one day she takes my brother (I wasn’t yet around) to a big Checkers. As she was paying, Gareth grabbed one of those black plastic motorcycles and happily rode it out the store. My mother said it was mortifying having to go back in with this stolen motorcycle.
    We still tease Gareth about his shoplifting.

Leave a Reply

