I named my kid after my bear.

I looked at my bear last week thinking of how long he had survived; how much we had been through together; and then I realised that I had unknowingly named my son after him.

Stoffel is short for Christopher; which happens to be my son’s second name.

Stoffel is a legend in his own right. He has been with me since a tiny baby; he was possibly bigger than me then.

He came with a big brown bow around his neck, which has long since been lost.

That isn’t the reason for Stoffel being a legend though. As he was one of my favourite toys he would go everywhere with me. All my pillows and me.

As you know I have an affinity with animals, and it isn’t much different with my childhood bear. He isn’t just some old bear; he has personality; he has cha-ris-ma; he is ALIVE.

Stofelious Bearikins The Legend

Stofelious Bearikins The Legend

Now because Stoffel was dragged literally from pillar to post he would be misplaced. You do of course know what happens when a little girl loses her favourite toy. Tears squirt out in a projectile waterfall fashion; and her face and eyes remain red and spotty until the absent toy has returned.

So instead of being missing in some unknown place; all sad and alone; Stoffelious Bearikins had scaled the wall and had gone to raid Mikes Kitchen. One day he even came home with a drop of tomato sauce on his chest. His crime unveiled. I considered acquiring him his very own Birthday Meal Card.

Stoffel also enjoyed the offerings at the Veldskoen Drive-in. He had hidden under my duvet and mountains of pillows to escape his discipline post burger, chips and Green Slush Puppie gorge in the cafeteria. Stoffel and I don’t have memories; we have adventures.

Truth be known Stoffel was a friend when I didn’t have living furry friends to play with; he consoled me when I cried, hugged me tight and made me feel safe when I was scared. He even let go of his mucho exterior and enjoyed some tea and cookies with my dolls.

Stoffel is now retired but still has a conversation with me now and again. Don’t judge; sometimes I need expert advice. Just this morning I asked what he was made of; as I stitched a new hole in his now matured armpit, and he answered: “fluff.”

When I realised a few days ago that he and my son shared a name: I told My Boy and he replied with “I can see the resemblance.” and I can too. Their rigid exteriors hold inside a kind heart; strong arms to hug and hold onto and beings that bring miles of smiles. My bears.

If you liked this post you may also like to read Blu – The Miscreant or my featured member post

Please, be kind and DO NOT COPY AND PASTE THIS ARTICLE.

“The Copyright Act[3] defines nine classes of work that are eligible for copyright:[4]

literary works – including novels, poems, plays, film scripts, textbooks, ARTICLES, encyclopaedias, reports, speeches, etc….”

rather share this post from one of the links below, or simply give me a thumbs up and like this post or the Di Doodles Facebook Page.

You can follow me on Twitter, Pinterest or Bloglovin

Pop by News24 Voices and read my featured articles.

Last but not least you can fill in your email addy in the “you have mail” box (in the right hand column or in the bottom right hand corner), click the “follow” button and have up coming posts delivered to your email. *Try it – it’s as good as having your dog bring your newspaper to you in the mornings*

AND THANK YOU for stopping by!!

 

 

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on September 23, 2013, in Di's Articles, Family, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Just love this and it describes the relationship I have with my bear Edward. He was even a page boy at my wedding!!!!

Leave a Reply

