Dancers Love Dogs – Durban

Image: Courtesy of Dancers Love Dogs

Image: Courtesy of Dancers Love Dogs

Just over a week ago I was contacted by the amazing Brigitte Reeve Taylor and Leigh Meyer to say that an awesome lady Eldette Bauer had donated 4 tickets to the Dancers Love Dogs show for anyone who works in animal welfare.

I am not a person who accepts help or “freebies” for lack of a better word. Although I thought be graceful and grateful – say thank you – and you can beat yourself up later.

I immediately invited my amazing friends and partners – in – crime from Adopt Don’t Shop Durban and Bonsela Durban: the one woman, one man and gorgeous tubby baba bunny rescue team – Samantha Lee Bunnyfluff (Bunville Rabbit Rescue); and the passionate Tilanie Meierhans.

I must apologise now for all the name drops, amazing’s and awesome’s but I feel that each of these people is highly laudable when it comes to working with animals.

I then proceeded to batter myself about how there were far more deserving people – who did far more than what I could ever do and have ever done. There are people who are far more deserving like another friend, Cherece Du Plessis so co-runs Second Chance Sanctuary with her mom, whom I am continuously humbled by.

My excitement grew steadily until last night when D-Evening set.

Tilanie and I missed the company of Sam however set out to enjoy an evening of song and dance at The Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre with our daughters.

We were seated with Cherece and another amazing lady Angela Gabell who has co-ordinated the Santa’s Shoe Box Drive for Second Chance Sanctuary.

The curtains raised and we were treated to a breath-taking show. We laughed, and were in absolute awe of this show where every cent of the proceeds goes to mass sterilisation.

Last night’s show was the last one for this year, so Durbanites, Joburgers, and Capetonians will have to keep their eyes peeled for shows in the new year. I highly recommend that you “put your bum in a seat” for animal welfare.

We had the privilege of meeting Leigh and Brig during the course of the evening, I commend these ladies for organising a professional and thoroughly enjoyable evening. Thank you to all the performers and those behind the scenes who donated their time and talent for the animals.

Here is how Brig decided to begin this amazing initiative which I pinched off the Dancers Love Dogs website.

“I have rescued many strays and lost dogs in my life. It is now par for the course to have a dog blanket, collar and lead , with a few treats, always handy in my car, just in case!

On the 17th February this year, I was driving in rush hour morning traffic on the highway past the airport, when I noticed a small figure hobbling along the side of the highway, so sick he could hardly keep on his feet.  With the help of a wonderful man named Manie, a gentleman who stopped to see if I was “safe”, and two of the township men, it took us almost 90 minutes to exhaust the poor little boy into giving up and allowing us to catch him. coordinate

Whilst driving to my vet, Dr Duncan Siegfried (Hillside Vets in Wynberg), holding this little mange-ridden boy, I decided I had to make a difference!

I would like to pay tribute to all the wonderful people working tirelessly in the animal associations, shelters and rescue organizations for the amazing work they do, every day.  I am in awe of their dedication.”

 

Be sure to follow Dancers Love Dogs on Facebook and Twitter to keep up-to-date with their amazing efforts.

Please, be kind and DO NOT COPY AND PASTE THIS ARTICLE.

“The Copyright Act[3] defines nine classes of work that are eligible for copyright:[4]

literary works – including novels, poems, plays, film scripts, textbooks, ARTICLES, encyclopaedias, reports, speeches, etc….”

rather share this post from one of the links below, or simply give me a thumbs up and like this post or the Di Doodles Facebook Page.

You can follow me on Twitter, Pinterest or Bloglovin

Pop by News24 Voices and read my featured articles.

Last but not least you can fill in your email addy in the “you have mail” box (in the right hand column or in the bottom right hand corner), click the “follow” button and have up coming posts delivered to your email. *Try it – it’s as good as having your dog bring your newspaper to you in the mornings*

AND THANK YOU for stopping by!!

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on November 1, 2013, in Animal Welfare, Di's Articles, Doggy Style, For Cat Lovers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

