Social media and a taste of Deja vu – RIP Paul Walker

Yesterday we woke up to the news that a very well liked actor died in a high speed accident. He died like he was depicted in the films he acted in.

I am a fan of his acting.

I followed him on Facebook and Twitter.

Okay well I am not a crazy fan who knows every detail about an actor’s life – not any more – that died in me when my childhood favourite Patrick Swayze succumbed to cancer.

When I read the news that Paul Walker had passed away I was gutted.

I wonder if social media which is more than often described as intrusive is actually a good thing. You heard me right – a good thing for celebrities.

Forget about the intrusiveness for a moment.

I doubt I would have felt such devastation at a man I never new in physicality’s death. Following him reading his words, I realise delivered by his publicity team, made the otherwise surreal person real.

It makes admirers realise that celebrities are only human. They are just like us except they have the means to make the world stand up and notice.

I certainly with that I had the power to create near pandemonium in raising funds for animals… Celebrities have that power, and it makes me really sad that the world lost a celebrity who used his influence to do good. I read this man didn’t only lend his name to a charity; instead he showed up – in the flesh and made a difference.

I have been watching the reaction of his friends and co stars reactions to his passing and I realise the enormity of his loss in their lives.

If younger celebrities had to take a leaf from a fellow actor I would suggest they look at the life of someone like Paul.

Last night my children and I decided to watch Fast and The Furious as a tribute to Paul. I would like to highlight the following lines that especially “hit home”

Dom: [pointing to a picture] That’s my dad. He was coming up in the pro-stock circuit. Last race of the season, he was coming into the final turn when a driver named Kenny Linder tapped his bumper and put him into the wall at a hundred and twenty miles an hour. I watched my father burn to death. I can still remember him screaming. The people who were there said my father died long before the tanks blew. They said it was me that was screaming.

What a feeling of déjà vu when you think that James Dean who also loved fast cars and racing, died similarly.

Deja vu – James Dean

Deja vu – Paul Walker

Rest In Peace Paul.

My sincere condolences to Paul’s family and friends, mourning his unmistakeably mammoth loss in their lives.

My condolences go to family and friends of Roger Rodas who also lost his life in the tragic accident.

Please, be kind and DO NOT COPY AND PASTE THIS ARTICLE.

“The Copyright Act[3] defines nine classes of work that are eligible for copyright:[4]

literary works – including novels, poems, plays, film scripts, textbooks, ARTICLES, encyclopaedias, reports, speeches, etc….”

rather share this post from one of the links below, or simply give me a thumbs up and like this post or the Di Doodles Facebook Page.

You can follow me on TwitterPinterest or Bloglovin

Pop by News24 Voices and read my featured articles.

Last but not least you can fill in your email addy in the “you have mail” box (in the right hand column or in the bottom right hand corner), click the “follow” button and have up coming posts delivered to your email. *Try it – it’s as good as having your dog bring your newspaper to you in the mornings*

AND THANK YOU for stopping by!!

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on December 2, 2013, in Di's Articles, Social Networking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

