Missing those who made Christmas – Christmas

I am awake early.

Really early.

I am feeling sad – but content that I had the privilege of learning from someone so amazing – I have no doubt that she is an Angel today.

Granny made Christmas – Christmas.

She baked all sorts of goodies from I think November… The Cake was the first.

The kitchen table and every counter available were decked out with ingredients.

The smells; tastes; memories I will never forget. Each year I helped a little more in preparation of the special day.I think this is the very reason that Christmas Fruit Cake is my ultimate favourite. Of course when granny learned this; she would sneak me into her room of “stashes” and show me that she made an extra fruit cake on the sly for my birthday in January.

She hand made minced pies; tried out various biscuits; she baked her fingers to the bone out of love.

Granny taught me the true meaning of Christmas too. Christmas day dawned and I rushed through to the lounge; with sparkles in my eyes; to see Granny who was the only one awake and reading her Bible.

“Can we welcome Jesus into our home now?”

She explained how we prayed, and how we didn’t really need to welcome Him, because He was already with us everywhere we went.

I can’t even remember where the presents fit in. Although with Granny and Gramps the presents were always special. Today my present is remembering.

Granny was a teacher, a guide, though out her life. She even taught Gramps about Jesus. They read the scripture every night and learned together from a devotional from Jews for Jesus.

Christmas was a day to dress up really pretty and to enjoy the spoils that Granny had made. My best lunch time memory was the crispy roast potatoes that were feathery soft on the inside. A gift from God prepared into a gift. Peel off the beautiful outer wrapping and indulge in the inner.

How I miss those moments.

Today, I’ve kept most of her traditions, modernised a little and added a little. Nothing will measure up to the special day she created though.

Merry Christmas.
May your heart and mind remember what today is really about. Celebrate knowingly.

May the abundance of love overflow from your heart.

Xx

Please, be kind and DO NOT COPY AND PASTE THIS ARTICLE.

“The Copyright Act[3] defines nine classes of work that are eligible for copyright:[4]

literary works – including novels, poems, plays, film scripts, textbooks, ARTICLES, encyclopaedias, reports, speeches, etc….”

rather share this post from one of the links below, or simply give me a thumbs up and like this post or the Di Doodles Facebook Page.

You can follow me on TwitterPinterest or Bloglovin

Pop by News24 Voices and read my featured articles.

Last but not least you can fill in your email addy in the “you have mail” box (in the right hand column or in the bottom right hand corner), click the “follow” button and have up coming posts delivered to your email. *Try it – it’s as good as having your dog bring your newspaper to you in the mornings*

AND THANK YOU for stopping by!!

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on December 25, 2013, in Di's Articles, Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Aah so lovely ….

Leave a Reply

