What I learned from children’s stories

I always talk about inspiring others through the most amazing life journeys, and that by sharing your story you could just be helping another person…

I for one don’t have the greatest past but I am learning to look at my past as a series of lessons that made me a better person today, and will see me improving myself tomorrow and learning and growing through life.children blog


I grew up in a household where I heard the line “children should be seen and not heard” Now as a mother I know that – this line is so outdated that it should be buried in the cave where it came from.

I believe that children have a right to be heard and that we as parents are merely here to help them on THEIR journey. In saying that children will never really learn from our words but our actions. I don’t advocate rebelling, rudeness, spitefulness or nastiness. I believe that children should be respected as much as an adult. I believe that adults should know better than to hurt a child.
I know I always write in such a clichéd way but the truth is that the clichés – the quotes – words to live by are actually our truth…  in living our truth we are teaching – we are putting our vibration on the world and imprinting it on our children. I believe in imprinting on them that they can live out their dreams – they can do anything their hearts desire if they are willing to put in the effort to make their dreams a reality.

“First think, second believe, third dream, and finally dare” – Walt Disney

On facebook we quoted from Whitney Houston’s song “Greatest love of all” –

“I believe the children are our future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be”

I honestly believe these words.  I don’t believe in breaking a child’s spirit to make them learn. Mine was broken way too many times as a child.

“Promise me you will always remember you’re braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think” AA Milne

As much as I believe we need to inspire children I believe that children inspire us adults – I mean honestly –
Who has not learned something infinitely profound from their children?
Who has not found something infinitely profound in a children’s story?

If not…

“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again”

By no means am I saying that one should tell children lies.

I am talking about that momentous occasion that we learn to believe in ourselves –

“She believed in dreams all right, but she also believed in doing something about them”. Walt Disney

believe in the unseen magic…

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly, what is essential is invisible to the eye.” The little prince

have faith…

“All you need is faith trust and a little pixie dust…”

be strong and know that we can get through any obstacle that is thrown in our path…

“Fairy tales are more than true; not because they tell us that dragons exist but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.” Neil Gaiman

Most importantly they teach us about love…

“We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird. And when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love.” Dr Seuss

“Sometimes the smallest things take up the most room in your heart” AA Milne

“How do you spell love” – piglet?
“You don’t spell it you feel it” – pooh

Life should contain balance and balance means we need laughter 🙂

“A little nonsense now and then is cherished by the wisest men” Roald Dahl

“People say nothing is impossible but I do nothing every day” Winnie the Pooh

“One of the advantages of being disorganised is that one is always having surprising discoveries” Winnie the Pooh

And remember …

“You’re off to great places. Today is your day. Your mountain is waiting. So get on your way.” Dr Seuss

“If you ever find yourself in the wrong story” – leave – Mo Willems

love Di

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on November 20, 2014, in Di's Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

