Are those who charge for spiritual gifts charlatans?

Are those who charge for spiritual gifts charlatans?

Personally I think that balance is very important.

The scales need to sit in a good position of GIVE and TAKE.

When the scales tip so that balance is shifted –
* you either have someone who is drained of energy and an energy vampire
OR
*you have an egotist (energy vampire ) and a drained recipient.

To learn more about energy, a good book to read is The Celestine Prophesy.

Firstly, I do have to make a living. I need to have some kind of income stream so I can pay my bills.

Could I make money doing something else, something less spiritual, something I’d love less than what I do right now? Of course. But then I wouldn’t be able to dedicate very much time to what I actually want to do.

I wouldn’t be authentic. This is who I am. This is what I’m meant to do. I practice what I preach. Forcing myself to do a job I don’t really want to do isn’t in line with any of that.

By dedicating myself to this work full time, I’m able to help far more people for free and otherwise, than I could if I had another job. I also wouldn’t be able to work at the level at which I do if I spent a significant portion of my day being distracted by a job that wasn’t aligned with Who I Really Am. I have learned the hard way that when you are pulled away from your soul journey you are soul drained… A kind of monotonous exhaustion that leaves you dead inside.
I was too tired to really connect most of the time.

When I read, I enter into an altered state. Not only did it take me years of practice to learn how to do that, but I have to be in a high vibration in order to accomplish that. I need time and space and the right environment to make that happen. Exhaustion isn’t conducive to that.

But isn’t it simply wrong to charge for any kind of spiritual service? Shouldn’t all light workers and healers and teachers work for free? Shouldn’t we all be content to live in poverty, subsisting on donations, content with the idea that our sacrifice is worth it so that we can help others?

I don’t believe so, no. Let me tell you why:

Poverty isn’t conducive to helping others. Who do you think can help more people, a billionaire or a pauper? That’s a pretty easy question to answer, isn’t it? The more money someone makes, the more people they can help, period. Living in poverty isn’t conducive to helping others. It simply means that there’s a belief that you can’t be a good person and also have money, which is a false belief. Why would the Universe set it up like that? Why would particularly the best among us be required to have the least? Shouldn’t it be the other way around (it actually is, but we mess it up by believing otherwise).

Money is spiritual. Of course, materialism for the sake of materialism isn’t a good idea and often causes a great deal of damage. But that doesn’t mean that money, in and of itself, is bad or not spiritual. The energy of money is actually deeply spiritual, and an inability to receive it will cause a great imbalance. Yes back to the scales again…

Think about it: energy has to flow. If energy flows out, it must also flow in. Otherwise, there’s depletion. If you are giving but aren’t able to receive, you will create an imbalance in your life. You can receive the love of the Universe in many different ways. Money is just one, and a convenient one, at that.

We’re here to enjoy the physical, WHILE being attuned to nature AND knowing the power of our own minds. And if we’re to do that, we have to make peace with materialism and learn to work with it in a balanced way, rather than demonise it. It’s ok to make money, it’s just not ok to rape the earth and destroy entire cultures to get it. Nor is it necessary to do so.

But isn’t it our responsibility as light workers to be accessible to everyone?

If you’ve chosen to dedicate your life to helping others, isn’t it your obligation to make sure you can help as many people as possible by making yourself as accessible as you can to everyone?

Well, that’s not actually possible. Here’s why: You can’t help everyone. And you can’t attract everyone. Oh, and you have no obligation to do so. Ever.

The idea that light workers have an obligation shuts down more healing energy than any other.

I was born with a strong desire to heal and to give. When, as a child, I felt the unhappiness of those around me, I mistakenly thought that it was my job, my obligation to help them. When I couldn’t, because they weren’t ready to let go of their pain, I felt like I was a failure. That led to a belief that I wasn’t good enough, which I’m still cleaning up. The intense desire to help, coupled with the thought that I wasn’t up to the job, caused a great deal of pain. And so, I shut down my abilities, I hid my light, and I became an angry, depressed, introverted, quiet, desperate person. I allowed people to abuse me. I didn’t think I was worth more. After all, if I couldn’t do what I was meant to do, if I couldn’t make others happy, if I couldn’t do my “job”, then what good was I?

It took years for me to realize that I didn’t have a “job”. It had been an intention, a desire, but never an obligation. And when I finally allowed myself to be happy even when others weren’t, I started truly helping others. My joy inspired their joy. My pain hadn’t been able to do that. I’d felt like a failure as a child because I thought I could/should help everyone. I didn’t realize that it wasn’t up to me to help them. I couldn’t assert good energy into their reality. All I could do was make myself available to those who were ready to receive what I could flow through me. I could volunteer to do this, and then let those who were ready for my particular brand of energy come to me. They had to attract the help, and if I didn’t volunteer, someone else would. Their help was not contingent upon me.

I also realised that I wasn’t here to save the world, because the world doesn’t need saving. The Universe has got this. Each one of us has more guidance than we can comprehend. And we can choose to play along in that game or not. There is no obligation to do so. We can choose to, because it’s fun and it feels good, but we don’t have to.

So, you can’t help everyone. And you can’t make yourself accessible to everyone, since the Law of Attraction can only bring you those who are a match to you. If you’re aligned with helping others, you can only attract those whom you can help. If you’re aligned with suffering and scarcity and frustration, you’re going to attract a bunch of people who continuously ask for help, but can’t really receive it. And Nothing will drain you faster.

If it’s not WIN-WIN, there’s an imbalance

The bottom line is this: The Universe works on a win-win basis. We’re the ones who came up with the twisted idea that things had to be win/lose. But that doesn’t really work, especially long term. If all parties are enriched by the exchange of energy, then there’s no limit to how much energy can be exchanged and how much benefit can be received. If someone has to lose in order for someone else to win, there will always be a limit.

When the student is ready, the teacher appears. If that teacher charges more for her services than you can afford, you’re either not quite ready, and/or that’s not the perfect teacher. When you are truly ready to manifest the clarity you’re after, you will manifest it in a way that’s totally accessible to you. It’s not the teacher’s responsibility to make sure you’re ready (that’s not possible).

My personal balance
I do readings on both a free and charged basis. When spirit leads me to do a free reading – I DO IT. Believe me spirit can make you listen so clearly its like a punch to the face! B A N G! – H-E-L-L-O! Spirit makes things happen!

Besides readings, I run my facebook page sharing snippets of insights to inspire you. (A free service from me that I put a lot of energy into. A little thanks from those who enjoy the posts to balance out the energy is by the likes, shares and comments. Once again the scales… Copy and pasting a post no matter how many times its been “out there” makes that thief an energy vampire)

Then, there’s this blog, longer bits of info I have put my energy into to pass over to you for FREE.

I also network for animal welfare and feed feral cats – I don’t ask for donations because miraculously I manage to make it through every month with a few cents to spare. Yes. Donations would be great and I would then have a few Rand to spare… But then I would have to deal with politics and drama and it is my choice to live peacefully.

I’ve found the balance that works for me – I provide the maximum benefit I can, while making sure I don’t deplete myself, so that I can continue to grow and evolve and give in bigger and bigger ways.

Each of us has to find that balance for ourselves, but I think the biggest mistake we can make as a spiritual community is to think small. If we’re going to change the world, we have to be willing to play on a big stage. We have to be willing to use money and the economy for GOOD, instead of just lamenting that others aren’t.

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on April 26, 2015, in Di's Articles. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very special article Di. Applicable to many fields. Thank you x

Leave a Reply

