My Story – Why I chose Animals

A good few years back, an author friend of mine encouraged me to write my story for her blog. She was highlighting the healing power of journaling or blogging about experiences with domestic violence.

I wrote an edited version of my experiences and circulated it since then.

In the back of my mind though, I never felt like it was enough, I felt as if I needed to receive justice for myself as well as the animals who graced my life with their presence.

So I began to shape what is now my book, “My Story – Why I chose Animals”.

It took all these years to work through the pain and begin REAL healing.

It was incredibly scary to release my book. It concerned me at one point that I wouldn’t have the support of my family. Right now, I can’t say I don’t care, I am however far less concerned. I can’t say that I’ve had much support from them either.

Besides justice my main reason for releasing my book publicly was to create conversation and bring change.

In the States, Human and animal welfare notably work together. I believe that a greater effort is needed here in South Africa to ensure that children and animals are protected. Some animal activists don’t even support human welfare. Hopefully through conversation the divide between the two can be narrowed and many more lives can be saved.

Having said this I must thank the following people for reading and reviewing my book. Although I deeply appreciate the kindness they have all shown me, I haven’t had the words to express my gratitude fully.

 


I found this book a very easy flowing book to read.  Once I started reading, I could not put it down.  Di has shared her life experiences in such a way that revels the wonderful loving memories and exposes the bad life experiences without hate, but rather with a message of growth and understanding. I highly recommend this book to anyone who needs to heal oneself from childhood trauma.  Something most have experienced.  The book has given me more insight as to how Di works and her incredible skills with animal communication.

 

Shirley Haigh

Golden Light Meditation & Healing Centre


Captivating, passionate and interesting.

Mel Bonthuys Author of My Anxiety Companion


A raw and moving account of a person’s inner strength and development. Will inspire others to greatness and proves that things will get better.

Farrah Khan Maharajh HiC of Feeding the Furballs


I can’t say that I enjoyed it as it is not a happy nice story but it was a good read.

It was well written and easy to read,

Although you mention what you went through you did not go into great gory details as some books and victims do, which I think was refreshing.

As a reader we could empathize with you and feel some of your pain without too much discomfort.

I would have loved to hear more about your grandfather and your relationship with him as he seemed one of the only comforts in your life.

Catherine Phillips


Firstly big hugs and big big love. I started reading your book this morning and didn’t put it down till I reached the end. I’ve never had the opportunity to review a book so I’m at a loss for those words you see other authors use, like compelling, an easy read, frightfully real and sadly shocking, etc. etc. But I think I just managed.

I had no idea you had to endure so much pain and torture. Especially not from one man. My mom and her sisters have similar stories to share of a life with their mother and her many husbands. Your step father would be a close second to their *****. I think that was his name.

Your book made me angry at him and my initial reaction was to demand his contact details so I could give him a piece of my mind but I’m sure you don’t need that extra stress and the universe has graced you with a platform to humiliate him the way he deserves. One can only image how deeply unhappy he is with his own life in general.

On the upside, I’m glad you have embarked on your path to total recovery and the past is now well past. Congratulations on your book. It was very easy book to read and you have made it easy for many people of all levels of education to grasp and understand that they too are not alone and that abuse under any circumstances is never acceptable. I’m just sorry that you had to endure that continued brutality. However, I also feel after reading your book that it was your path and that you had to go through it to be able to help the hundreds, if not thousands of women, children, even men that suffer abuse daily who don’t have the guts to stand up and take the necessary steps to get out and move forward. You have the voice, you have the platform, you were chosen for this job.

Well done. Hans Ulrich


Dear Dianne

Firstly, thank you for allowing me to be one of the first to read your story, for someone who isn’t a big fan of reading, yours had me hooked.

The whole story is beautifully written, and all the emotions and feelings came through in your words.

I felt everything that the characters felt.

The dialogue had me hooked from the start and every page I turned I couldn’t wait for more of the story.

It’s not easy writing about one’s life story as I feel one can get lost in translation, however with yours, the story just kept flowing.

I really think your story is an inspiration to many, and those who are able to read it will benefit from it.

Women and child abuse is something not many like to speak about but I’m sure many experience – having someone or knowing someone who went through that and still came out stronger at the end of it all, is someone to be admired.

Thank you again for allowing me to be one of the firsts to read your story, it opened my eyes to a lot of new things, and made me realise that I had an easy upbringing – even though I grew up without a father – my life has by far been easier and I am most grateful for that.

All the best with your book,

Kind regards

Taryn Vlok


Di’s story touched my heart. She shows how physical and mental abuse as a child can affect one’s life for many years. It is heart-warming how animals play a role in healing that hurt and how, in helping animals, you help heal yourself.

I enjoyed your book, although I felt sad at what you had to go through, but I know you are a strong, empathetic woman, partly because of it.

Salome


As soon as healing takes place, go out and heal somebody else – Maya Angelou

I would now like to bestow the gift of healing that friend gave to me so many years ago, onto someone else.
If you feel you would like to tell your story, and begin your healing journey, please email me and we can get the ball rolling to publishing it on my blog.
If you would like to remain anonymous that would be fine too.

If you would like to purchase a copy of the e-book  ( e-pub / pdf) My Story – Why I chose Animals please email me on 8ightinfinity@gmail.com

About Di

Di believes that the most important and most fulfilling “job” she has is being a mom of two. She is an animal communicator. Her greatest passion is animals and their welfare. She enjoys writing about animals and topics to help others with their spiritual growth.

Posted on June 19, 2017, in Abuse, Animal Welfare, animals, Di's Articles, Healing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

